PDA

View Full Version : those who look after children with epilepsy

mushpea
14-09-2012, 07:33 PM
I have been asked by a parent if I would look after her 10yrold with epliepsy (please exscuse my spellings) , this is somthing I am new too and whilst I am aware there are different types and different severitys I have no other knowledge of it so I wanted to ask those of you who look after a child with epelipesy what you have in place with regards to paperwork , I was thinking of doing a specific policy with regards to this childs care . I also wonder do we have to call an ambulance each time the child has a fit or does this depend on the severity and if not every time what wording do you have in place on your paperwork to back this up?
I also wanted to ask how many times you have had to call an ambulance to your eplipetic child and how you delt with this with regards to other parents worriying it would happen often.
I had a child who had a feveral convulsion , I went with him in the ambulance and my mum who happend to be visiting took the other children untill the parents arrived, one parent was asking how often this was likley to happen, I think if it had turned out to be epilepsy she would have stopped using me.
I appriciate all children with this are different so these questions may be difficult to answer but i need some idea of how to answer and reasure this parent and also reasure myself I can deal with this

rachelle
14-09-2012, 08:06 PM
I have 2 - one who just blanks out but no seizures as such and the other who has seizures. I drew up a care plan with mum which states the procedure I will follow if he does have a seizure in my care and we both signed it. It states clearly that I will be unable to travel in an ambulance with him but will call her as soon as I have called the ambulance.