PDA

View Full Version : Child won't join in

shimmy
17-08-2012, 08:57 PM
Hi, I am very new to minding and after some advice please!

I have a little boy aged 4 who will be coming to me after school from September but is coming for 2 full days a week over the holidays to get settled.

His mum hasn't completed the all about me questionnaire I sent her even though I have asked 4 times now and hasn't given me any ideas of what he enjoys/dislikes despite me keeping on asking in different ways. She said he eats everything but so far he has refused dinner at mine everyday and asked why I keep giving him funny dinners and when i mentioned this and asked for ideas on what he does like to eat, his mum and dad have given me nothing.

We went out to feed the ducks and he froze a he was scared of the water, I told mum and she said "oh yeah, he does get like that".

We go to the park and he stands outside the fence and runs up and down the hill the whole time while the other children play.

I plan activities but he doesn't want to have a go. He plays by himself with the toy cars or trains. I try to involve these in what we are playing but he doesn't want to know.

I have asked him to let me know what he enjoys and he just says playing on the wii. I setup the wii for a little bit today but then after it was turned off, he asked all day again.

I'm really struggling as I don't want him to be unhappy but it is hard to look after my own 3 when they are playing with the shaving foam or outside but he doesn't want to join in with anything or anyone.

Is this normal? I'm not sure if it is just that he isn't settled but I am struggling to plan things to do as I don't know what he likes. I have asked mum again this evening over email but no reply as yet.