PDA

View Full Version : Late Cancellation

JessG
16-08-2012, 10:06 AM
Hi I've been minding a little one now for a few months, I always ask for payments at the beginning of the month to try and avoid non payments but since this child started every month has been a struggle to be paid either on time or the full amount I give all my parents the fee's for the next month at least a week in advance but often allow 2 weeks so that any queries over fees can be made before the payment date. This parent's last payment came at 5pm on the payment due date and was only half the fee, they sent me a message to say how much they paid and that they were going to keep their child at home on half the booked/contracted days as they couldn't afford all of the fee's, this really caused me problems financially and It was too late to book other children in for those days, on this occassion I tried to be fair and I know i'm too soft and said if they were struggling they needed to pay me the full amout for this month and I would refund the days off next month, the rest of the payment was then given to me in 2 installments over the following week. At what point do I still charge for cancelled days? should it be the full rate? and should I refund days off the next month? Like many of us I don't want to cause animosity but I get so stressed every month knowing that every month I have to chase my payments from them, I hate it!

Erika
16-08-2012, 02:53 PM
Depends on what is in your contract. What does it say in your contract/policies about fees and cancelled days/children's days off?

Mummits
16-08-2012, 03:09 PM