PDA

View Full Version : Hi need help

Kalo
14-08-2012, 08:45 PM
Hi there I am new to this site n need some advice.i had a visit from ofsted yesterday n was told I had a complaint made against me.i was in my night gown when the lady came as I wasn't feeling very well.when she told me that someone had made a complaint about me not using the car seat for the kid I lookafrer I panicked as I admit I have done this a couple of times.most of the time I do use it so in panic I said I don't have anyone in my care.i dont know what will happen now.would they get back to the person who complaint n wouldn't she say that I have been looking after her.i am really scared I have been doing child minding for 11 years now n never had any complaints made against me.all the parents n kids r very happy in my care.any advice is much appreciated.i haven't slepped all night or eaten anything for two days.can I just resign if that will make any difference.

sarah707
15-08-2012, 07:01 AM
I strongly suggest you use this as a learning experience and tighten up your safeguarding and other procedures.

Do you have a local development worker / childminding support coordinator who can come round and give you advice?

Do you know any other local experienced childminders who will help you?

You might find some of our members are very angry by your post - childminders work by reputation and things like not using car seats and lying to Ofsted give us all a bad name.

However, I suggest you turn it around and use it as a positive - now is the time to take a deep breath, think about how you work and change things for the better.

I hope this helps :)

Helen Dempster
15-08-2012, 07:24 AM
I totally agree with Sarah, and I hope some of the other members don't give you too much of a hard time. However, I see you've been minding for a good number of years, so tsk tsk you should know better! Naughty step for you, methinks.