PDA

View Full Version : Pre-Reg Childminder Advertising - When Can I Start Advertising?

Wiggle Wiggle
28-07-2012, 08:01 PM
Hello All!

I am a newbie to this site and I am currently going through the registration process. I have had my registration visit last Friday and was deemed suitable to be a childminder (Phew!!) subject to checks. Please can anyone inform me when I can start advertising? I understand that if you act as a childminder and not be registered that it is illegal. However, as I have now been through the registration visit and will not act as a childminder until all the checks are in place, I have my insurance, register as a Food Handler and with Data Protection etc. and have in my hand the most precious Certificate of Registration. Can anyone please inform me if I would be acting illegally if I started to advertise. All information gratefully received.

Equally if anyone had any ideas on how the advertising of their childminding business worked best, I would be delighted to hear from you.

Thank you in advance.

P.S. I honestly have to say this is a great website! Very informative. This is my first post so very excited!:clapping:

LauraS
28-07-2012, 08:34 PM
If you have your certificate of registration then you are registered, right? Or am I missing something?!

I have had enquiries from three sources - word of mouth (teachers at my kids school telling other parents, relatives telling friends etc), childcare.co.uk (but in my experience, steel yourself to put up with a considerable proportion of timewasters and no-shows) and FIS.

If you are willing to do school runs, get in touch with the local school and find out if they will pass out leaflets for you in the kids bags or on the school noticeboard/newsletter. Also in the window of shops local to the school. :)

Wiggle Wiggle
30-07-2012, 08:17 PM
If you have your certificate of registration then you are registered, right? Or am I missing something?!