PDA

View Full Version : In need of inspiration!

green4lynn
26-07-2012, 09:11 PM
Evening all!

I've been minding for over 8 years, but just recently have felt stuck in a rut with resources, layout of toys etc! I don't have a separate playroom, just my dining room and conservatory, and my own children are 12 and 17 so i don't need any toys left out for them. I just can't seem to get inspired by what I've got, can't really afford to buy new stuff, and the kids seem bored with what I put out!

I have mindees ranging from 11mnths to 4 yrs old, and need a kick up the bum! My garden is small, and has no grass, only pebbles (its rented, and we can't afford to turf it!), and I'm struggling to make it more child friendly too!

Please help give me some fab ideas for an Enabling Environment!

Lynn x

gegele
27-07-2012, 06:54 AM
have you thought of doing a junk box? get loads of empty boxes, bottle loo roll.... ask parents to bring some.... (working in partnership :))

some masking tape and you're away !!

the pebbles will add to it by making different sound in different containers :D

kids can create what they want, you can make a shaking bottle with younger one.

you could paint some pebbles, drier them and then make shaking bottle with different colour pebble...

watgem
27-07-2012, 07:00 AM
what about swapping toys/books/games with another childminder? me and a friend do this and it works really well, new things for free:)or try freecycle?

Toothfairy
27-07-2012, 07:02 AM
I too use my dinning room to CM from and have a small 40ft garden which is paved over.
Over the last 12 months I've been trying to move away from the boxes of plastic toys and have been building up my range of open ended toys and sensory baskets.
For example I have got rid of dressing up costumes and replaced them with lots of pieces of material, net, silk Velvet, cotton sheeting etc and lots of different hats, bags, capes etc, bunches of keys, old mobile phone etc.