PDA

View Full Version : Bum or Bottom... Belly or Tummy?

EmmaReed84
24-06-2012, 02:40 PM
I know everyone is different and prefers different words. I prefer May I, instead of Can I that is my biggest thing oh and silly insteady of stupid. Although I am not OTT about it IYSWIM.

I have a parent to can't stand Bum or Belly and prefers bottom and tummy, however I have one mindee who always says bum "hehehe Emma, I done bum burps hehehehe" lol... which isn't swearing, but the other mindees pick it up and use it lol...

It is not a big issue, just something I have noticed really. What are you/parents like about certain words?

md0u0131
24-06-2012, 02:43 PM
I think because I'm a Biologist by degree I prefer the more technical terms for things. I can cope with bottom and tummy but get irrationally annoyed when people use things like stomach when they mean abdomen!

Pipsqueak
24-06-2012, 02:44 PM
bum, belly, backside, botty, tummy, fart, pump, trump etc are acceptable words to me

:D:D

sweets
24-06-2012, 03:08 PM
I tend to use bottom but will occasionaly say bum. :laughing:

I do HATE it thought when a parent or minder says "come on lets change your bum"
It just sounds horrible! its a nappy you are changing not a bum!

I also really really hate dodie instead of dummy :D sorry but its sounds common :blush::blush:

eddie
24-06-2012, 03:11 PM
I have a parent who hates the word fart and says its akin to swearing. She prefers botty burp!? This is the woman who calls the girls bits 'fluff' - talk about confusing. I prefer the proper names and say fart deliberately :laughing:

karen m
24-06-2012, 03:13 PM
Cannot stand the word "dodie"

Pipsqueak
24-06-2012, 03:14 PM
I tend to use bottom but will occasionaly say bum. :laughing:

I do HATE it thought when a parent or minder says "come on lets change your bum"
It just sounds horrible! its a nappy you are changing not a bum!

I also really really hate dodie instead of dummy :D sorry but its sounds common :blush::blush: