PDA

View Full Version : NNEB qualification.

loobyloo168
12-06-2012, 05:35 PM
I know this is not really a childminding question but ....

I studied for and achieved my nneb in 1996, obviously as a childminder iv updated and done my eyes training and updated my safeguarding children when I needed to.

Iv got to give up childminding and would love to go back into schools but fear that my qualification is outdated, I know it's still classed as relevant as I checked it on the cwdc website.

I studied hard and have folders full of essays, dissertations, observations and all my notes from back then, and it was hard work.

One of the parents on the playground mentioned to another the other day that she had done a course online over the Easter holiday which qualifies her to level 3' which to be honest I found quite shocking especially after the 2 years training I did.

Just wondering if any body else thinks I would still get work it him a school with my old qualification ??

sarahjane
12-06-2012, 06:25 PM
My sister qualified as NNEB in 1985ish, she worked as a nanny for years mainly for the same family (she still does abit of housekeeping for them and the children are now 25 and 22!) Her main job now is as a teaching assistant in a local village school so I'm sure your qualification and experience will count for alot

tulip0803
12-06-2012, 06:39 PM
There has been some concern in the news recently about level 3 childcare qualifications that are not what they seem. Apparantly some companies are delivering level 3 childcare qualifications which are not worth the paper they are written on let alone what people have paid for them. A level 3 is the equivilant of an A level or NNEB and as such should take a similar amount of work.

http://www.nurseryworld.co.uk/news/1126837/Childcare-courses-confuse-students-Level-3-status/

http://www.nurseryworld.co.uk/News/MostRead/1133870/Confusion-rife-Level-3-distance-learning-childcare-courses/