PDA

View Full Version : Advice re challenging behaviour of mindee

maggiesk
24-05-2012, 03:24 PM
I'm after some advice from any other childminders out there who may have had some experience in this area.
I'm having real problems with a mindee 21 month old being really aggressive to my son who is more or less the same age but smaller in size.

I've been childminding this little boy since he was 12 months old but this behaviour has started since he started walking about 2 months ago. He settled in very quickly and clearly enjoys coming, we've bonded right from the beginning and he hasn't shown any signs of being jealous of my little boy or not liking him. this new behaviour seems to be when he wants to get my attention and even more so when he isnt able to do something he wants to do- like pull something down, press all the buttons on my washing machine and I try to guide him away and say 'No'

He has really started pushing boundaries when he's here and whenever he has to do something he doesn't want to ie- have his nappy changed, hold my hand if he gets out of the pushchair to walk in the street, waiting his turn to be pushed on the swing he gets really angry within seconds and then gets agressive.
If we are at my house he instantly tries to hurt my little boy- and it's quite deliberate, usually by hitting or if he's not standing next to him he will throw whatever he has in his hands at him. When I say no to him he then hits me too.

Telling him no, removing him from the situation, ignoring him and focusing on my lo, phrasing his good behaviour only, nothing is seeming to work and it's getting worse. My little boy is clearly nervous of him, and starts backing away and calling for me whenever the boy comes near him.