PDA

View Full Version : pensions???

adele1985
17-05-2012, 06:47 AM
just woundering how many of you pay into a pension scheme

sarah707
17-05-2012, 06:55 AM
I asked about a pension when I was divorced in my early 40s - I went to an independent consultant.

He said there was no way I could put enough money away (in the working years I have left) to make a viable income and advised me to save instead.

If you are younger and have disposable income then definitely go and see someone about it - old age and no money are not welcome prospects :(

Bridey
17-05-2012, 07:00 AM
No. My nest egg is tied up in a house that will be larger than my needs once my lad has flown the nest and I stop childminding. As an ex estate agent I saw how house prices always rise in the long term and the bigger the property, the more money it rose by (its all by percentage). Having heard how some people have lost their pensions entirely in the last 15 years I'm happy doing it this way and saving any extra I have in an ISA.

The plan is to find a little tiny cottage by the sea and live there with cats and dogs like the batty old lady I am! :D

I know things are different these days. Its hard to get on the property ladder and mortgages are difficult to get so I would seek financial advice to find the best path for your future.

~Grasshopper~
17-05-2012, 09:31 AM
i have a good civil service pension and once my children are both a school i intend going back to work so will restart it.

i would go and see an advisor tho, my dp has a private pensions advisor who moves it around so he gets the best deal. dp pays about £50 a month but has been paying into it for years already x

AliceK
17-05-2012, 10:02 AM
No, I don't and I'm one of the old uns too so no point now. Plus I don't even own my own house so I'll be destitute and living in a box when I'm old :eek:

xxxx

ziggy
17-05-2012, 10:13 AM
I'll be in the box next to Alice or still working till i die

jumping j
17-05-2012, 10:15 AM