PDA

View Full Version : Balance - Minding / own children

notts
05-05-2012, 08:14 PM
Hi all, just wondering how you manage the balance with your own children. I'm new to this and have 2 young children (almost 3 and 1). I know there will be some adjusting issues to contend with but feel the pros outweigh the cons for me minding. But I'm sure there are jealousy, confidence, sharing issues that may come in to play. Would love to know your thoughts.............

rickysmiths
05-05-2012, 08:31 PM
My two were about that age, 11 months and 20 months. I have never had a problem. I started with a 16 week lad every afternoon from 1 to 5 term time only. It suited me fine, I could spend the morning with my two, continue their activities and to be honest my son had a long sleep in the afternoon and the mindee was so little so did he so it eased them both into the idea that mummy looked after someone else. I had the little boy for 3.5 years and had his brother as well.

I was lucky that I was under no pressure to earn more than a bit extra. I paid for our summer holiday in Cornwall and all the Birthday and Christmas presents.

As my children grew I took on different combinations of children. It wasn't until I had been minding for 6 years that I took on two full time babies and my two were 8 and 6 then.

I have to say it breaks my heart when I see cms on here who expect to fill 2 or 3 under 5 spaces and have before and after school all at once and expect their own little ones to take it in their stride.

My two have always accepted what I do and my dh has been 100% behind me. Without that I could not be working 18 years on!

My two are nearly 20 and 18 now and my son the nearly 18 year old has spent from 1pm today looking after friends two children 9yrs and 6yrs, cooking tea, putting them to bed and staying the night tonight. Both have been babysitting my minded children for 4 and 2 years, my son also babysits for Beaver parents.

samb
05-05-2012, 08:44 PM