PDA

View Full Version : Pricing

notts
05-05-2012, 03:04 PM
I plan to charge in half/day rates. A recent lead came to me and another minder. I quoted based on 3 half days - my holidays and charging a 50% retainer for term time. Yet the other minder charged hourly, nothing for term time yet comes out more expensive. I don't know her hourly rate. My half day is £17.50 but it set me off thinking day rates or hourly? and i just thought I put out there to see what you guys do and any advice on why or why not! thanks :)

Smiley
05-05-2012, 03:25 PM
I have been charging hourly for many years. I also charge retainers for term time only contracts.
A long time ago I charged daily but with some children I was working longer hours yet parents still paid the same.

sarahjane
05-05-2012, 03:44 PM
I charge hourly but a minimum of 5 hours per day:)

rickysmiths
05-05-2012, 03:54 PM
I have always charged an hourly rate with no min hours because it is my choice whether I take a child or not. I have always felt this is fairer than charging a day rate which my include hours a parent may not need.

mama2three
05-05-2012, 04:59 PM
I attempt to 'tailor make' a package to suit individual families. at the moment all of mine do at least 10 hour days and so an all inclusive daily rate works well for them - and is much easier for me regarding invoicing etc.
If I had enquiries from different families with different needs then an hourly rate may be better.
I dont feel the need to have 'one price' - after all each family has different needs - hours , meals , nappies etc.

Downsides of offering a daily rate - some see you are open between say 7 and 6 and so rarely pick up before as they have 'paid' for the time. On hourly rate you would contract them for the exact hours they need.

Little Pickles
05-05-2012, 07:41 PM