PDA

View Full Version : Advice on making a school allocation appeal

sillysausage
24-04-2012, 11:42 AM
One of my mindees hasn't got in at their first choice school (the one I do pick ups and collections from) and so the parents are wanting to submit an appeal. I would be grateful for any advice any one has with how to support them and what considerations might make their appeal more successful. Mum is adamant she does not want to have to find a new childminder (which is a nice compliment for me as they are a lovely family, but there is no way I could do both school runs as I don't normally use a car, the schools are 2.5 miles apart and they start and finish at the same time)
Admittedly they do not live within the designated catchment area for the school (but they are even further out of the catchment for their allocated school). A child who lives 3 doors from them has been granted a place. I have been providing care for the family for 3 years (+ younger sibling). The school they've been allocated is a mile further away from their home than the school I serve.
If we name the schools School A (allocated school) and School B (wanted school), they have a friend who has the opposite problem with the same schools ie been offered school B but wants A (hope you understand that).
I have said to them that the fact they know someone who would be happy to swap school places it doesn't work like that and the LEA has to give equal consideration to all appeals.

So can anyone offer any advice?

AliceK
24-04-2012, 12:15 PM