PDA

View Full Version : Do you have a 7 seater car or not?

greenfields
14-04-2012, 07:44 AM
Who hasn't got a 7 seater?
How do you manage without one?
Could you not imagine not having a 7 seater?
Do you have more than 2-4 mindees? Surely this means you can't take on six children at any one time without a 7 seater to get out and about.

OH and I are discussing my options. I'm newly registered so don't want to buy a 7 seater if it's not needed. I'm due a new car so a spacious 5 seater would be greatly appreciated now anyway. ;)

Any advice?

VeggieSausage
14-04-2012, 08:08 AM
I personally wouldn't rush into getting a 7 seater, I am in my second year of minding have have literally had 3 days where a 7 seater would have been handy - but we just did the local park and walkable activities instead.....but I do live close to parks etc. If you are going to buy a new car anyway then I think I would consider it but if not I would start minding with what you have and see how you get on. Did that make sense!!! lol

blue bear
14-04-2012, 08:55 AM
I do have a seven seater but didn't when first started out, for some strange reason the social worker would only register me for the number of children I could transport in my car.

Unless you are reliant on your car to do your job, I can't see why a seven seater is essential, I sometimes have 9 children and have no intention of getting a mini bus!

greenfields
14-04-2012, 09:00 AM
Yes that makes perfect sense. But the car I've got now isn't really suitable for childminding and I'm due an upgrade soon. I'm just looking for now. We looked at a Citroen grande Picasso but I'd like a Hyundai. Some of the Hyundais are so spacious I'm wondering if I'll really be getting that much more room with a Picasso - if I remember correctly the boot isn't big unless you put a seat or 2 down so no longer really a 7 seater.

Chimps Childminding
14-04-2012, 09:01 AM